<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Yahoo, part 5&#8230;</title>
	<atom:link href="http://blog.wordtothewise.com/2008/03/yahoo-part-5/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://blog.wordtothewise.com/2008/03/yahoo-part-5/</link>
	<description>Email, Delivery, Spam and more</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Thu, 09 Sep 2010 21:10:33 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.0.1</generator>
	<item>
		<title>By: SilentLamb</title>
		<link>http://blog.wordtothewise.com/2008/03/yahoo-part-5/comment-page-1/#comment-759</link>
		<dc:creator>SilentLamb</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 27 Mar 2008 21:45:43 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.wordtothewise.com/index.php/2008/03/14/yahoo-part-5/#comment-759</guid>
		<description>Blech!  They&#039;re clueless.  I&#039;ve seen mail systems run by monkeys....that were better run.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Blech!  They&#8217;re clueless.  I&#8217;ve seen mail systems run by monkeys&#8230;.that were better run.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Adam Bernstein</title>
		<link>http://blog.wordtothewise.com/2008/03/yahoo-part-5/comment-page-1/#comment-758</link>
		<dc:creator>Adam Bernstein</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 19 Mar 2008 19:32:33 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.wordtothewise.com/index.php/2008/03/14/yahoo-part-5/#comment-758</guid>
		<description>Well, damn, it figures we&#039;d find out about the FBL beta only by seeing this announcement of it being closed down, and I sure hope to see it opened up again, as that feature has been extremely useful for us with Hotmail and AOL.

In related news, I&#039;m wondering if you have any insight into Yahoo&#039;s whitelisting policy for sending servers, or any ideas for who to plead with to change what seems like a completely absurd restriction.  They&#039;ve now rejected two different applications for two different listservers we administer, each of which has a dedicated IP address and one of which serves only one domain, as follows:

&quot;We cannot systematically exempt your mailings from our SpamGuard technology since the IP address of the server appears to be a shared domain mail host and have multiple clients sending email.&quot;

We can&#039;t figure out what they&#039;re talking about, since this is a listserver hosting one domain at one IP address and that was made clear in the application, unless it&#039;s that they see From: lines in multiple domains on messages from this server.  This is of course simply a function of hosting discussion groups on which the sender&#039;s address is preserved on distributed messages.

Are they saying that no such discussion group listserver can be whitelisted, that it&#039;s only for mass-mailers sending newsletters From: a single domain?  And if so, is that a deliberate policy, or an unintended consequence?

Thanks much.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Well, damn, it figures we&#8217;d find out about the FBL beta only by seeing this announcement of it being closed down, and I sure hope to see it opened up again, as that feature has been extremely useful for us with Hotmail and AOL.</p>
<p>In related news, I&#8217;m wondering if you have any insight into Yahoo&#8217;s whitelisting policy for sending servers, or any ideas for who to plead with to change what seems like a completely absurd restriction.  They&#8217;ve now rejected two different applications for two different listservers we administer, each of which has a dedicated IP address and one of which serves only one domain, as follows:</p>
<p>&#8220;We cannot systematically exempt your mailings from our SpamGuard technology since the IP address of the server appears to be a shared domain mail host and have multiple clients sending email.&#8221;</p>
<p>We can&#8217;t figure out what they&#8217;re talking about, since this is a listserver hosting one domain at one IP address and that was made clear in the application, unless it&#8217;s that they see From: lines in multiple domains on messages from this server.  This is of course simply a function of hosting discussion groups on which the sender&#8217;s address is preserved on distributed messages.</p>
<p>Are they saying that no such discussion group listserver can be whitelisted, that it&#8217;s only for mass-mailers sending newsletters From: a single domain?  And if so, is that a deliberate policy, or an unintended consequence?</p>
<p>Thanks much.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
